Perfect Prey

perfect-preyAuthor: Laura Salters

Publisher: Harper Collins

Rating: 4 stars

Buy Links: Amazon

Type: Novel

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: When best friends Carina Corbett and Erin Baxter are assigned to cover a Serbian music festival for their magazine, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. And it is, until Erin vanishes into thin air on their last night in the country. Terrified, Carina launches a desperate search, discovering that the details of her friend’s disappearance are eerily similar to another tragic incident ten years before. Could history be repeating itself?

Frantic to find Erin, Carina takes off on a journey deep into the Serbian criminal underbelly, and uncovers a world more sinister than she ever dreamed . . .

A twisting, edge-of-your-seat suspense perfect for fans of Jamie McGuire.

   

Review: This book was disconcerting and frightening and anxiety-filled. Surprisingly, I liked that about it! The protagonist is prone to panic attacks and I felt like I was having them with her. The story is lean and swift and at times you almost feel like you know what’s going to happen, but you would be wrong… that’s all I’m saying.

Best friends Carina and Erin are exited to travel to Serbia where they’re covering a music festival. Carina is going to write a story that will get her out of the fashion closet at the magazine they with together at. Unbeknownst to her, however, the story she ends up writing isn’t about the festival at all. Because one night at the festival, Erin steps away and disappears.

In the beginning, Carina seems to be the only one who notices and seems concerned. As soon as the twenty-four hour waiting period expires, Carina reports Erin missing and reality sets in.

We’ve all read the police procedurals where the chances of someone surviving after 24, 48, or 72 hours becomes less and less likely. Carina unwittingly becomes a person of interest to the local police as well as the other members of the trip. Concerned that the case is being out on the back burner, Carina travels back to Serbia to see what evidence she can find on her own –and discovers a secret that makes killers out of desperate men and pushes her past her own fear limits.

Very interesting, fast-paced story that drags you into the swirling mass of a panic attack and doesn’t let you go. Make sure you’ve got enough time to finish it when you start! Thanks

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s