Highland Temptation (Highland Knights #4)

Author: Jennifer Haymore

Publisher: Loveswept 

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy Links: Amazon 

Type: Novel in Series 

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: Jennifer Haymore’s sweeping Highland Knights series is perfect for readers of Maya Banks, Monica McCarty, and Sabrina Jeffries—and as the saga resumes, one of Scotland’s most steadfast warriors shields a broken beauty while she soothes the pain in his soldier’s heart.

When Lady Emilia Buchanan discovers that her despicable father has been scheming against the crown, she turns to the Highland Knights for protection—and retribution. Spirited away to a safe house on the outskirts of London, Emilia is surprised to find herself sharing close quarters with a soft-spoken, musclebound Highlander. Before long, curiosity gives way to an alarming attraction. Emilia has learned firsthand from her father that men are not to be trusted. She just never met one so honorable and loyal, so powerful and, yes, tempting.

Ever since Waterloo, Colin Stirling has struggled with memories that haunt him night and day. Driven near to madness, he no longer trusts himself with meaningful relationships of any kind. At least in this temporary sanctuary, Colin can withdraw from the world—that is, until his stunningly gorgeous charge learns the full depth of his pain. In Emilia, Colin sees a kindred spirit with battle scars of her own. He also senses a chance to heal . . . and to find love.

 

Review: I always find myself intrigued and captivated by these alpha-type Scottish warriors, and Jennifer Haymore knows just how to write them. Sexy, smooth and always inescapably a hero down to the bone. In this fourth book in the series, we’re treated to a delicious story, rich with details of the seditious plots surrounding the royal family and how our soldier, Colin, plays a part. Along with our beautiful heroine, Emilia.

Colin has a lot of memories from his years as a soldier, and they continually haunt him at night. He’s afraid his dreams of a wife and family will never cine true because of his nightmares. He’s embarrassed and concerned about his nightly terrors and what they might make him do to someone trying to help him while in a dream.

Lady Emilia has nowhere to turn other than to the men who’d guarded her before, the Highland Knights. They’d guarded her and her father once before so she knew they’d help–even if she needed to be protected from her father this time. She’d found alarming information hidden in her father’s desk and he’d beaten her and threatened to kill her. She’d come to the Highland Knights for help.

As the other knights work to find evidence to snare her father with, Colin and Emilia are forced into close quarters as they plot to hide her somewhere safe. The enforced intimacy they endure while pretending to be married sparks a real flame of feelings between them.

But now her father’s disappeared along with his cohorts and she’s the only one who can bring them to justice. Just how bad is that going to anger her father? He’ll feel betrayed and reach out to punish her and shut her down.

Can Colin keep her safe?

Great adventure and lively sentiments between the characters make this series and this book come alive. Great historical romantic suspense–read it!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s