Death at the Day Lily Cafe (Rosalie Hart #2)

death atAuthor: Wendy Sand Eckel

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Rating: 4 stars

Buy Links: Amazon

Type: Novel in Series

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: Rosalie Hart has finally opened the café of her dreams. Decked out with ochre-tinted walls and stuffed with delicious organic fare, the Day Lily Café is everything Rosalie could have hoped for. But not five minutes into the grand opening, Doris Bird, a dear and trusted friend, cashes in on a favor–to help clear her little sister Lori of a first-degree murder charge.

With the help of her best friend and head waiter Glenn, Rosalie is on the case. But it’s not going to be easy. Unlikeable and provocative, murder victim Carl James Fiddler seems to have insulted nearly everyone in town, and the suspect list grows daily. And when Rosalie’s daughter Annie gets caught in the crossfire, the search for the killer becomes personal in this charming cozy perfect for fans of Diane Mott Davidson and Joanne Fluke.

 

Review: I’ve had the wonderful opportunity of reading a slew of mysteries this summer. There have been fantastical urban suspense, psychotic thrillers, and English style cozies. This book is a combination of a cozy, with the delightful addition of a slow burn romance and a restaurant! Recipes!

Rosalie Hart is opening her dream cafe with her dream team of helpers–Glenn, chef Custer, and waitress Crystal. Rosalie thinks up the dishes and Custer makes them work in the restaurant. She’s got Tyler at home who’s running their organic farm that provides the vegetables and herbs and flowers that they use. All is good until her neighbouring business owner, Doris, has a big problem. Her sister’s husband CJ was murdered and the sheriff is looking at her sister Lori as the killer.

Once again, Rosalie finds herself dragged into the investigation. She’s got to help Doris and Lori; if the sheriff is only looking at Lori, he could be letting the real killer go free.

Of course, investigating can get dangerous, and sometimes bad men do terrible things when they are cornered. What will Rosalie do if her daughter Annie pays the price for her meddling?

I enjoyed this mystery. It hit the perfect note of humor, small town gossip, suspense, and romance. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next one! Thanks

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s