This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity)

Author:  Victoria Schwab

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy links: Amazon

Type: Novel in Series

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. 

In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

 

Review: When I started this book, I was immediately swallowed up into a dark chaotic world whose rules I didn’t understand and whose history was out of my ken. The urban fantasy world created by Victoria Schwab is brutally stark and the main characters at first seemed ill-equipped to handle their legacy–a legacy born of terror, greed, and death.

At first, I had no clue about Sunai, the Seam, the Waste, Corsai, Verity or anything else–what they were and what their purpose was. When I read the first exchange between Kate and the her father’s driver, I thought parts of the dialogue were typos. Monsters? V-City? The Waste? But as I grew to understand the importance of August, the significance of his friendship (for lack of a better word) with Kate Harker, her returned interest in him, and the monsters and how they were formed– the plot line of the story took a different trajectory. The more I knew, the more afraid I became for August and Kate.

The language of this book is exotic and chilling. Victoria Schwab is an extremely talented writer and her words truly fulfill the title–they create a Savage Song about a land gone to waste, lives doomed to perish. The ending took my breath away and at the same time, made me anxious to read more. I can’t wait!

Take the time to dig into it–you’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s