A License to Wed (Rebellious Brides #2)

Author: Diana Quincy

Publisher: Loveswept

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy Links: Amazon

Type: Historical Novel in Series

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: Perfect for readers of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas, and Sabrina Jeffries, the Rebellious Brides series continues with a sizzling tale of forbidden love between a socialite and a scholar—who might just be an infamous spy.

Lady Elinor Dunsmore made the mistake of falling for her older brother’s best friend, who vanished after a night of unbridled passion. Six years and a lifetime later, their eyes meet across a Paris salon. Her friends and family believe she’s dead, but Elle is very much alive. She’s now associated with a ruthless general, who wants her to seduce the man who broke her heart in order to learn his deepest secrets. Is Will a mild-mannered scholar—or the notorious agent they call The Razor?

The bastard son of an earl and an actress, Will Naismith always knew he was an unsuitable match for Elle Dunsmore, no matter how powerfully he ached for her. And yet he almost allowed his desires to spoil her glittering future. After the agony caused by Elle’s supposed death, Will has devoted himself to the Crown, but his entire life has been leading up to this unexpected reunion. As much as he still wants her, though, he must not succumb to lust once again. For his mission is delicate—and Elle is delectably dangerous.

 

Review: I must admit that this tale took a little bit to hook me. Things were a little bumpy and they weren’t working out the way I thought they would. Soon, though, I sank into the story and became invested in the characters. The story was intriguing and even though I hadn’t read the first in the series, I had no trouble keeping up with the characters.

Will Naismith is the bastard son of an earl, so he lives a kind of half-life. While he was raised in his father’s household and was educated as a gentleman, there was never any chance he would gain the title or even be able to marry into the aristocracy. Unfortunately, he didn’t warn his heart, which fell for the sister of one of his school friends. Not only was she beautiful, she was also titled, wealthy and gorgeous–sure to make a great match. There was no way he would be allowed to marry her–it would ruin her forever in the eyes of the upper echelon.

What Will doesn’t fully understand is that Elle doesn’t care. Like REALLY doesn’t care. The “Big Misunderstanding” that plays such a huge part in so many romantic tropes strikes again as both of our main characters are laboring under a misapprehension.

Will thinks she doesn’t care for him and wants to marry someone eligible. Elle thinks that Will only wants to marry her because of what happened.

Using the background of Revolutionary France, Ms. Quincy skillfully plays the characters against one another, creating a sexual and emotional tension that ignites whenever they meet. Delightful summer read! Thanks

 

 

True love.

And these people earned it.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s