The Girls in the Garden

girls in the gardenAuthor: Lisa Jewell

Publisher: Atria Books

Rating: 4 stars

Buy Links: Amazon

Type: Novel

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbors for years and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really?

On a midsummer night, as a festive neighborhood party is taking place, preteen Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace lying unconscious and bloody in a hidden corner of a lush rose garden. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?

Dark secrets, a devastating mystery, and the games both children and adults play all swirl together in this gripping novel, packed with utterly believable characters and page-turning suspense. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by The Girls in the Garden, the next unforgettable novel by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell.

 

Review: Evocative of a bygone era, this mystery conjured up all kinds of memories of simple summer days filled with outdoor activities. Running riot through the neighborhood yards, staying our until dark, walking your bike home crestfallen after a bad fall that skinned your knees.

Loyalties are divided when a new family moves into the neighborhood that backs onto the large green park. Friendships that were week established caused ripples in relationships that had been tight before. Grace and Pip and their mother Clare were seeking solace and comfort in their new home, trying to create a new normal. Instead, they received a lot of attention–so much so that Clare felt like they were in a fish bowl. While it was lovely to feel a part of the community that had formed between all the inhabitants of the homes and apartments that backed up to the huge common area, it was also a little overwhelming.

And just like the past, a young girl turns up missing. When Grace is recovered, unconscious under a shrub, who’s to blame?

A convoluted suspense that takes you into the minds of the neighbors as well as Clare. Lovely psychological suspense as well–i really enjoyed it. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s