The Asset (Wounded Warrior #1)

img_4603Author: Anna del Mar

Publisher: Carina Press

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy Links: Carina & Amazon

Type: Novel

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: Anna del Mar’s explosive, sexy debut novel in the Wounded Warrior series, perfect for fans of Lisa Marie Rice and Lora Leigh—the story of a woman desperate to escape her dangerous past and the navy SEAL who would lay down his life to save her.

Ash Hunter knows what it is to run. A SEAL gravely injured in Afghanistan, he’s gone AWOL from the military hospital. Physically and mentally scarred, he returns home to his grandmother’s isolated cottage—and finds a beautiful, haunted stranger inside.

Like recognizes like.

Lia Stewart’s in hiding from the cartel she barely escaped alive, holed up in this small Rocky Mountain town. Surviving, but only just. Helping the wounded warrior on her doorstep is the right thing to do…it’s loving him that might get them both killed.

Soon, Ash realizes he’s not the only one tormented by the past. Pushing the limits of his broken body, testing the boundaries of her shattered soul, he’ll protect Lia until his last breath.

 

Review: This was a familiar yet surprising story in the hands of Ms del Mar. The runaway with dangerous secrets and the wounded warrior who showed up desperately sick on her doorstep. Even if she doesn’t trust him, she can’t send him back out onto the streets. Plus, he’s the grandson of the one woman who’d taken her in and made her feel at home for the first time in her life. She’s honor bound to repay that debt to Wynona Hunter, even if that meant taking her very scary grandson Ash into her home.

Lia has been on the run for several years from the man who’d made her life a living hell. She knew it was only a matter of time before Red found her, so she avoided making friends because bad things always happened to anyone who helped her. But she couldn’t turn away the man on her front porch. She couldn’t.

This book is illuminated by pain and hardship, suffering and internal anguish; yet it’s also a book of redemption and soulmates. As the characters develop through their story arcs, you grow to care about them and by the end you’re cheering them on. I really recommend it to those who love romantic suspense. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s