When We Fall (Take the Fall #2)

whencover74758-mediumAuthor: Marquita Valentine

Publisher: Loveswept

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy Links: Amazon

Type: Novel in a Series

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: In the captivating new novel in Marquita Valentine’s Boys of the South spinoff series—perfect for readers of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans—a small-town sweetheart takes a chance on the bad boy who’s always been her hottest fantasy.

The last time Piper Ross saw her best friend’s sexy older brother, Jase Simmons, he was being taken away in handcuffs. Seven years later, two things haven’t changed: Piper is still head-over-heels in love with him . . . and Forrestville’s chief of police—Piper’s dad—still hates his guts. So when Piper sees a chance to get close to Jase, she makes her move—literally. As his new roommate, and as the office manager of his tattoo shop, Piper won’t be satisfied until Jase knows that she wants to be his.

The quintessential good girl, Piper is pure temptation for Jase. The only reason he’s always kept his distance is because she’s the last person he’d ever want to hurt. But once he realizes that Piper is ready to take the leap, everything just makes sense. Suddenly Jase feels like a new man—until nasty rumors start swirling and Piper’s heartless father stirs up even more trouble. Now Jase must convince Piper that she wasn’t wrong about him . . . because falling in love never felt so right.

 

Review: This amazingly layered and complex good-girl-loves-bad-boy romance captured not only my heart but my senses as it blazed with sexy heat and passion. It’s a really great read and kept me up much too late so I could finish it–surprising and twisty even though I kept thinking I knew what was going to happen next. Well done, Ms Valentine!

Piper has been in love with her best friend’s brother since she was fourteen. Never even imagining that he returned the feelings, she’d always loved from afar, watching him move from one willing woman to another. When he took the fall over a man getting shot and went to jail for seven years, she’d kept the faith, sending care packages and remaining tight with his sister Rowan. Now he’s out and available, so it’s time to make her move.

Jase has always been attracted to his sister’s friend Piper-but since her dad was the chief of police in their small town and he’d been a juvenile delinquent and then a convicted felon, he was pretty sure that her parents wouldn’t approve of their relationship being anything other than distant. When she approaches him at the party for Rowan and Seth, he’s completely surprised by her request for a job at his tattoo parlor and to rent a room at his house. Since he can’t seem to say no to her, he agrees; but wonders how he’ll keep it from becoming a complete clusterf@$k. He’s afraid he’s going to make a move, they’ll get together, and then her parents will go ape$hit.

Things have been rough for Piper since she moved out of her parent’s house seven months earlier. Her wealthy mother and absent father had been unkind to her all her life; they cared more about their social standing than they did her feelings. Tired of being pushed in directions she didn’t want to go, she’d finally left at age twenty-four. Miffed, they’d stopped all their financial support and kicked her off their insurance even though she has really bad asthma. And somehow she’s got to find a way to pay for school.

But having Jase not only flirt with her but let her move in? Like a dream come true. Maybe things are looking up?

Of course, the path of true love never runs smooth–and in this book, the ride’s bumpier than ever. Great suspenseful and sexy read. Two thumbs up! Loved it.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s