Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1)

Majorcover69106-mediumAuthor: Kelly Jamieson

Publisher: Loveswept

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy Links: Loveswept & Amazon

Type: Novel

Provided by Publisher

 

Blurb: In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

 

Review: Kelly Jamieson’s new series about the Aces Hockey team is scrumptious and I’m so glad I got into them at the start. I got this one and a novella for the next guy and I’m totally digging her style, her heat, and the way her writing really takes me into the head of the players and the women that are ending up with them. Delish!

I have to say I completely adored the character Lovey in this book. She was funny, she was fresh, and she had confidence. We’ve all been overshadowed by another person in our family–whether it was because they were a superstar or a super loser, your parent’s spent all their time and attention worrying about that kid. Not you. Them. So after a while, the parent’s just throw you a bone or two–permission to do something that they wouldn’t ordinarily let you do, let you stay up later, etc. The other sibs notice it and think you’re spoiled.

Lovey’s a beautiful girl who’s always been happy cheering her brother on. Duncan was always destined to be a great athlete and the whole family knew it. Sure her parents were always taking him to practice and to his games and she always had to sit in cold ice rinks and watch, but that was okay. She loved Duncan and that was important. His getting to be a professional hockey player was amazing! She hadn’t found her “dream” job yet, but somehow everyone had gotten the idea that instead of just trying to decide what she wanted to do, she was “aimless.” Wha?? Just because she wasn’t laser focused like Duncan had been didn’t mean she wasn’t smart and a great person, right?

When Lovey showed up in Chicago, she kept her plans on the down low from her brother Duncan, just showing up with her luggage and plopping herself down on the couch in his huge apartment. Of course she’d stay with him, right? Along with the free rent, though, came a lot of judgement and “Are you looking for work?” though. Lovey’s got a plan and she’s pretty sure it’s going to work out, but she doesn’t want to spoil it by having Duncan jump all over her idea and poo-poo it. So she coasts along, trying to get her ducks in a row before she tells him what she’s doing.

Meanwhile, she’s VERY interested in his roommate, Marc. Hot hot hot! But of course her brother had totally ruined that by announcing at the first dinner she went to with the team that Lovey was strictly off limits for dating. Crap.

Marc had gotten dumped from by his former girlfriend six months earlier. He’s not really into nights on the town and casual hook-ups–he’s serious, responsible, and very into his career and its inevitable transition. He’s also the team captain, taking care of everyone and trying to be a leader. He can’t afford the time and attention that it would take to have a relationship with Lovey–especially since Duncan had warned him off of her–but he just can’t help it, their chemistry is explosive!

This book was funny, sweet, hot and raunchy, with lots of laughs and sighs. I really enjoyed getting to know these two and can’t wait to read about the next Aces teammate! Thanks!

 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s