Once Upon A Cowboy (A Whisper Creek #3)

cowboycover63836-mediumAuthor: Maggie McGinnis

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept

Rating: 4 stars

Buy Links: Amazon

Type: Novel in Series

Received from Publisher

 

Blurb: In this sexy Whisper Creek romance for readers of Kristan Higgins, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe, a red-hot cowboy uses some Montana magic to give a reclusive beauty her happily ever after.

Yoga instructor Jessalyn Alcott radiates peace, calm, and serenity—on the outside. Inside, she still feels like the broken, desperate girl from the trailer park. She’s got dark secrets she can’t share, which is why she never lets her relationships go beyond the third date. But when she travels to the Whisper Creek dude ranch for a friend’s wedding, Jess is enchanted by a cowboy whose deep blue eyes, dimpled smile, and rock-hard body make it tough to remember why she keeps running scared.

Cole Driscoll has struggled to find his place on a family ranch where he’s always played second fiddle. His future might be uncertain, but he’s sure of one thing: He wants Jess by his side. Easier said than done. When it comes to getting close, she’s full of excuses, and he longs to fix the hurt he sees in her eyes. Now that she’s at Whisper Creek, there’s nothing he wants more than to break down the walls around her heart and heal her pain with the power of love.

 

Review: In this third Whisper Creek novel, lots of emotional baggage played a big part in keeping our hero and heroine guessing about their relationship until the very end. But I really enjoyed the Montana skyline and the sweet nature of the relationship that developed between Cole and Jess, filled with tension and heat and kindness and consideration. These two both got slammed by life, and sharing their problems helped them both learn more about each other and get closer at the same time. Ms. McGinnis makes the path towards their relationship worth the trip.

Jessalyn Alcott’s start in life had been rough, and escaping from it hadn’t been easy–physically or emotionally. It’s a shock when she gets a letter that brings it all back. She’s scared of what’s going to happen now, with good reason. But she doesn’t have to think about it for a while because she’s going to Montana to a wedding for one of her two best friends. This is her second friend to get married and move out to Carefree, Montana, and they are both determined to get her to move from Boston. This would solve several problems for Jess–but she hates to depend on others, and imposing on her friends and the family who runs the dude ranch would make her feel awful. So she needs to make up her mind–but she keeps getting waylaid by her powerful crush on Cole, one of the owners…

Because of family issues, Cole has felt trapped on the ranch. Now that it’s become successful and his brother is back, there’s a possibility that he could leave and go to college or do whatever he wants. He could have another career! He’d always thought he wanted to leave, but now he’s not so sure. When Jess visits again for the wedding, he finds himself sinking into his attraction for her again–and this time he acts on it. When it looks like Jess might stay and help with the Yoga studio, will he be so willing to leave? He would miss out on the opportunity to have a real relationship with her if he’s gone.

When the past collides with her future, Jess knows now might be the time to come clean with her close friends and get their help to solve the problems that caused her to run away from her family at sixteen. While she’s concerned that the fallout could destroy any chance she has for a future with Cole,  she may not have a choice.

This was a great read with two engaging characters whose grit and determination overcame problems from the past to make a great new future for themselves. Jess’s issues were difficult to imagine just going away–and were a real blocking point in the road to happiness for the couple. Kudos to the author for an original plot line and intriguing characters, making this one of the most enjoyable reads of the summer! Thanks! I’ll be going back to pick up the first two books in the series so I can read the other two girls stories!

 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.